A hands on course on Statistics for heterogeneous biological data (sequences, images, clinical data, single cell measurements, ..) using R and many Bioconductor packages.

Course Schedule

Lab Schedule (all sessions take place at 5:30pm CEST / 8:30am PDT):

Date Topic
Monday 6 April Introduction (covering: book chapter introduction; lecture 1)
Thursday 9 April Simulations (covering: book chapter 1 & 2; lectures 1 & 2)
Thursday 16 April Graphics (covering: book chapter 3; online lecture 3)
Monday 20 April Mixture Models and Variance Stabilization (covering: book chapter 4; lecture 4)
Thursday 23 April Clustering (covering: book chapter 5; lecture 5)
Monday 27 April Testing and RNA-Seq (covering: book chapters 6 & 8; lectures 6 - 8)
Thursday 30 April Multivariate Analysis (covering: book chapter 7; lectures 9 & 10)
Monday 4 May Networks and Microbiome Data (covering: book chapter 10; lecture 11)
Thursday 7 May Image Data (covering: book chapter 11; lecture 12)
Monday 11 May Machine Learning (covering: book chapter 12; lecture 14)

The book

The book for the course is available on Amazon, Buecher.de , and Cambridge University Press

It is also available for free online at both EMBL and Stanford.

The data are all available together as a large compressed tar file